Entries now open for Alan Lodge drinks writer award 2019

Entries are now open for the Alan Lodge Young International Drinks Writer of the Year Award 2019, celebrating talented journalists, bloggers and authors across the spirits, wine, beer and cocktail sectors.

Launched in 2012 in honour of the late editor of The Spirits Business, Alan Lodge, the award is assessed by an independent panel of judges, and is open to drinks writers under 35 across the industry.

Prospective candidates must submit three pieces of work published online or in print between 1 January and 31 December 2018. The deadline for entries is 15 April 2019.

The winner will be announced at The Drinks Business Awards, which will take place at the London Wine Fair this May.

Past winners include Hamish Smith, Laura Foster, Amy Hopkins, Tyler Wetherall and Margarett Waterbury. Last year, New York-based writer Dan Q Dao was named Alan Lodge Young International Drinks Writer of the Year 2018.

Hopkins, the current Spirits Business editor, said: “The Alan Lodge Young International Drinks Writer of the Year Award has two primary aims: to honour the memory of a much loved and missed drinks journalist, and to showcase new writing talent from around the world.

“The award is an incredible validation for young journalists and is a great boost to their credentials. I’d encourage anyone who is proud of something they’ve written to enter.”

To enter, email nuria@unionpress.co.uk. Please send entries as URLs, PDFs or Word documents.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note that comments are subject to our posting guidelines in accordance with the Defamation Act 2013. Posts containing swear words, discrimination, offensive language and libellous or defamatory comments will not be approved.

We encourage debate in the comments section and always welcome feedback, but if you spot something you don't think is right, we ask that you leave an accurate email address so we can get back to you if we need to.

Subscribe to our newsletters

Rioja Masters 2019

Deadline : 1st August 2019

Champagne Masters 2019

Deadline : 12th August 2019

Click to view more

The Global Organic Masters 2019

View Results

Cabernet Sauvignon Masters 2019

View Results

Click to view more