Close Menu

New legislation to protect Scotch industry

In response to pressure from the Scotch Whisky Association (SWA) the government has announced that it will consult on new legislation to tighten up the whisky definitions later this year. The consultation, which will be carried out by Defra, aims to protect the industry from counterfeiting and passing off, with new legislation expected by spring.

The proposed regulations include:
• Defining five categories of Scotch whisky (single malt, single grain, blended, blended malt and blended grain) which must be used in the name of a product
• Allowing the additional use of five regional names (Highland, Lowland, Speyside, Campbeltown and Islay)
• Prohibiting whisky from being labelled with the name of a distillery or a similar name if it is not a product of that distillery
• All Scotch whisky to be wholly matured in Scotland
• Prohibiting the export of Scotch whisky in wooden casks
• Prohibiting the export of single malt Scotch whisky unless it has been bottled or labelled.
Commenting on the development, Secretary of state Hilary Benn said: “This consultation will take us another step closer to strengthening the UK legislation that the SWA has been telling us they need to help protect Scotch whisky in export markets.”

Ben Grant, 10/10/07

It looks like you're in Asia, would you like to be redirected to the Drinks Business Asia edition?

Yes, take me to the Asia edition No