Play it by tier: Bourgogne’s new classifications

Bourgogne Côte d’Or: facts and figures

Bourgogne Côte d’Or vineyards in Pommard. Picture credit: BIVB / Michel Joly

Bourgogne Côte d’Or is not actually a new AOC. Integrated into the specifications of the Bourgogne Régionale AOC, it enjoys a Désignation Géographique Complémentaires (DGC), an additional geographic denomination, similar to Bourgogne Côte Chalonnaise or Bourgogne Côtes d’Auxerre for example. There are currently 14 DGCs for the Bourgogne appellation, chiefly allowing for the differentiation of the various wine producing areas within the Bourgogne region, each with their own unique characteristics.
Bourgogne now has 84 appellations. This is because the 23 Régionale AOCs have been reduced to seven, and Régionale Bourgogne now has 14 Dénominations Géographiques Complémentaires (DGCs) within it.
The seven Régionale appellations are:
Bourgogne (including 14 with a DGC)
Bourgogne Aligoté
Bourgogne Mousseux
Bourgogne Passe-tout-grains
Coteaux Bourguignons
Crémant de Bourgogne
Mâcon (including Mâcon-Villages and 27 Mâcon with a DGC
The 14 DGCs are: Bourgogne Chitry, Bourgogne Côtes d’Auxerre, Bourgogne Côte Chalonnaise, Bourgogne Côtes du Couchois, Bourgogne Côte d’Or (new), Bourgogne Côte Saint-Jacques, Bourgogne Coulanges-la-Vineuse, Bourgogne Épineuil, Bourgogne Hautes Côtes de Beaune, Bourgogne Hautes Côtes de Nuits, Bourgogne La Chapelle Notre-Dame, Bourgogne Le Chapitre, Bourgogne Montrecul/Montre-Cul/En Montre-Cul, Bourgogne Tonnerre
Although many sources state that Bourgogne has added two new AOCs in 2017, Vézelay (Village-level) and Bourgogne Côte d’Or (Régionale-level), a more accurate statement is: Bourgogne has gained one new Village-level AOC (Vézelay) and Régionale Bourgogne has added one new DGC.
Before these new additions, the total number of Village-level AOCs in Bourgogne was 44. With the addition of Vézelay, it remains the same since Marsannay Rosé and Marsannay are now counted as one AOC.
Premier Crus are still included within the Village count.
The Grand Cru count remains the same at 33. In short, the new AOC total of 84 is made up of: seven Régionale AOCs, 44 Village-level AOCs (including all the Village Premiers Crus) and 33 Grand Cru AOCs.

3 Responses to “Play it by tier: Bourgogne’s new classifications”

  1. Charles Crawfurd says:

    Logical but communicating the difference to the consumer will be key. As these wines one assumes will sell at a premium to ‘straight’ Bourgogne the consumer will need to understand why.

  2. barnaby33 says:

    Industry puff piece much? This is nothing more than a way for producers to squeeze more money out of Bourgogne level wines.

  3. Tim Clarke says:

    I have long sought out the Bourgognes from decent estates on the Côte d’Or which are often from parcels very close to their village sites and made with much the same care. Such wines are great value and I’m sure I’m far from alone in seeking them out. However, I’ve tended to not bother with the negociant offerings, presuming that these come from basic sites in the Maconnais or Chalonnais. So, now we have an appellation that brings clarity to the situation. This is an important change which is long overdue.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note that comments are subject to our posting guidelines in accordance with the Defamation Act 2013. Posts containing swear words, discrimination, offensive language and libellous or defamatory comments will not be approved.

We encourage debate in the comments section and always welcome feedback, but if you spot something you don't think is right, we ask that you leave an accurate email address so we can get back to you if we need to.

Subscribe to our newsletters

Fine Wine Sales Executive

Roberson Wine
London, UK

Account Manager - London Trade Sales

Bancroft Wines Ltd
London, UK

Brand Manager

Elixir Distillers
Park Royal, London UK

Marketing Assistant

Speciality Brands
Park Royal, London, UK

Key Account Manager

MMI Maldives

Financial Controller

London City Bond
Barking, UK

Duty Manager

The Whisky Exchange
Great Portland Street, London

Spirits Advisor

The Whisky Exchange
London, UK

International Sales Manager

Elixir Distillers
Park Royal, London, UK

Millésime Bio 2020

27th Jan 2020

Maisons Marques et Domaines Annual Tasting

London,United Kingdom
29th Jan 2020

Austrian Wine Tasting

London,United Kingdom
3rd Feb 2020
Click to view more