LRIWWA winners announced

The winners of this year’s Louis Roederer International Wine Writers Awards have been revealed with the judges praising the “pithy” and “insightful” entries.

Held on Tuesday 4 September at the newly refurbished Royal Academy Collections Gallery, guests were welcomed with the usual glasses of Roederer’s brut premier.

The chairman of the judges, Charles Metcalfe, remarked that: “everyone was shortlisted because of their exceptional achievements” and this year’s entries had been “beautifully crafted”, “pithy”, “insightful” and “challenging”.

Adrian Lander won the ‘Artistry of Wine Award’, Hannah Fuellenkemper was named ‘Emerging wine Writer of the Year’, Tim Atkin MW won ‘Online Communicator’, Dan Keeling was named ‘Food and Wine Writer of the Year’, Guy Woodward was ‘Wine Columnist of the Year’, Nina Caplan’s ‘The Wandering Vine: Wine, the Romans and Me’ was named ‘Wine Book of the Year’, Simon Woolf won ‘International Feature Writer of the Year’ and Kelli White was given the ‘Chairman’s Award’.

Judging this year alongside Metcalfe were: Richard Mayson, Victoria Hall, Ella Lister, Margaret Rand, Joanna Simon and John Stimpfig.

All winners, past and present, and their winning entries can be viewed here.

One Response to “LRIWWA winners announced”

  1. Hervé Lalau says:

    International competition… but only in English (although the sponsor is French). What a laugh.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our newsletters