Vatican bans gluten free communion wine

10th July, 2017 by Lucy Shaw

The Vatican has banned the use of gluten free bread and wine during holy communion – when Catholics believe the bread and wine turn into the body and blood of Christ.

Pope Francis, photo credit: Natacha Pisarenko

In a letter written by Cardinal Robert Sarah of the Vatican’s congregation for divine worship to bishops, Sarah stated that it was the bishops’ duty to ensure the correct bread and wine is used during the sacrament.

“It is for the bishop as principal dispenser of the mysteries of God to watch over the quality of the bread and wine to be used at the Eucharist and also those who prepare these materials.

“The wine that is used in the most sacred celebration of the Eucharistic Sacrifice must be natural, from the fruit of the grape, pure and incorrupt, not mixed with other substances.

“Great care should be taken so that the wine intended for the celebration of the Eucharist is well conserved and has not soured,” he said.

“It is altogether forbidden to use wine of doubtful authenticity or provenance. Nor are other drinks of any kind to be admitted for any reason, as they do not constitute valid matter,” he added.

The cardinal told the bishops that the bread should be made by people “distinguished by their integrity” and “furnished with suitable tools”, and that adding fruit, sugar or honey was a “grave abuse”.

Low-gluten unleavened bread is allowed but there must be enough protein in the wheat to make it without additives.

“Hosts that are completely gluten-free are invalid matter for the celebration of the Eucharist.

“Low-gluten hosts are valid matter, provided they contain a sufficient amount of gluten to obtain the confection of bread without the addition of foreign materials and without the use of procedures that would alter the nature of bread,” he said.

Catholics believe that the bread and wine turns into the body and blood of Christ during the Eucharist ceremony. Wine is inherently gluten free, however, there are two stages during the wine making process where gluten may be introduced.

The first is the practice of using a flour paste to seal oak barrels. The second is the practice of fining, which is done to clarify wine. Gluten can be used to fine wine, but more often a different agent like egg white, gelatin or isinglass is used, making it non-vegan.

2 Responses to “Vatican bans gluten free communion wine”

  1. Gus says:

    So, it’s soo safe,..the Pope will come Personally, and perform last and Funeral Rights, if you go Ten toes up”! Right?

  2. Marc says:

    Wow….! Still surprised why catholicisme is getting more and more impopular?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please note that comments are subject to our posting guidelines in accordance with the Defamation Act 2013. Posts containing swear words, discrimination, offensive language and libellous or defamatory comments will not be approved.

Subscribe to our newsletters

Fine Wine Logistics Coordinator

IG Wines
London, GB

Brand Ambassador East Coast USA - Ableforth’s

Maverick Drinks
New York - field-based, USA

Brand Ambassador West Coast USA - Ableforth’s

Maverick Drinks
San Francisco / Los Angeles - field-based, USA

Global Travel Retail Manager

Maverick Drinks
London, UK

Portfolio Ambassador - Europe

Maverick Drinks
North West Europe - field-based, UK

Senior Partner Manager - Grocery

Maverick Drinks
London/Field Based, UK

Sales Executive

Woolf Sung Ltd
London

Trade Marketing Manager - Maverick Drinks

Maverick Drinks
London / Kent

Business Development Executive Central London

William Grant & Sons UK
London

PR & Communications Officer - Atom Group

ATOM Supplies Limited
London, UK

Crus Bourgeois du Médoc 2015 Official Selection Tasting

London,United Kingdom
21st Sep 2017

The City Wine Show

London,United Kingdom
22nd Sep 2017

Almaviva 2015 Vintage and Vertical Tasting

London,United Kingdom
28th Sep 2017
Click to view more

Global Chardonnay Masters 2017

Deadline : 29th September 2017

The Global Riesling Masters 2017

Deadline : 29th September 2017

Click to view more

The Global Rosé Masters 2017

With wines from the palest of pink to almost ruby red, bone dry to almost cloyingly sweet, reductively handled to barrel-aged, as well as gently spritzy to fully sparkling.

The Global Organic Masters 2017

The drinks business is thrilled to announce the launch of The Global Organic Masters

Click to view more