What’s next for New Zealand Pinot Noir?

Chris Stroud, marketing manager for Europe, New Zealand Wine Growers

“To maintain and, indeed, build upon this growing reputation, the next step is to highlight and promote the regionality of New Zealand Pinot Noir. There are six key regions in New Zealand producing Pinot Noir, all with their own particular signature identity (indeed, many of these such as Central Otago, Marlborough and others have a number of sub regions which also produce their own distinctive characteristics).

“As production and the number of plantings increase, it is important that wineries maintain their regional style to showcase the sense of place where the wine is produced. Many of New Zealand’s vines are still young, but as those vines age, the wines will show more complexity, structure and a definitive expression of place. This is going to be New Zealand’s strength in the future as it will be capable of producing a multitude of distinctive regional styles.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our newsletters

International Marketing

Paris, France

Sales & Marketing Executive

Vintage Roots Ltd
Heckfield, Hook, Hants

Trade Marketing Manager

Boisset La Famille des Grands Vins
London, UK


Lanka Premium Beverages
Colombo, Sri Lanka

Marketing Executive

IWSC & Club Oenologique
London, UK

Sales Manager

Alliance Wine
Glasgow, UK

Sales Account Manager

London, UK

Sales and Business Development Manager (Spirits)

Protege International Group Cyprus Ltd
London, UK

Business Developer Europe

Copenhagen, Denmark or Haarlem, Netherlands

Wine Sales Administration & Customer Service Assistant

Waddesdon Wine
Waddesdon, Aylesbury, UK

Sangiovese Reset

London,United Kingdom
3rd Mar 2020

Washington State Wine

London,United Kingdom
10th Mar 2020

Prowein 2020

15th Mar 2020
Click to view more