Close Menu

IWSC releases Independent Retailer of the Year shortlist

The IWSC has announced the finalists for its Independent Retailer of the Year trophy.

Now in its second year, the award was established to recognise the important role played by this sector in encouraging sales and understanding of quality wines and spirits.

The finalists for 2010 were selected after consumers across the UK were invited to vote for their favourite wine merchant. The shortlist is as follows:

Cambridge Wine Merchants, Cambridge
Joseph Barnes Wines, Saffron Walden
Duncan Murray Wines, Market Harborough
Oxford Wine Company, Oxford
Peter Osborne Fine Wines, Oxford
Mostly Wine, Kirkaldy
WoodWinters, Bridge of Allan
Heritage Wine, Gloucestershire
Martinez Wines, Ilkley
Winetime, Carnforth

Frances Horder, competition director of the IWSC, explained: “While we are best known for awarding medals to the very best wines and spirits from around the world, we are always aware of the additional services and expertise the independent wine merchant provides to knowledgeable UK wine buyers, with their unique ability to hand sell interesting wines and spirits.”

Douglas Morton of the Bordeaux Wine Council, which sponsors the award, said: "The Bordeaux Wine Council was thrilled and impressed with the quality of independents who entered the competition.

“It was hard to choose a winner from the dynamic, creative and passionate entries, from operators who really are championing the way forward for our industry in these challenging and uncertain times."

The winner will be announced at an award ceremony to be held at Mosiman’s in Belgravia on Wednesday, 17 March.

Gabriel Savage, 08.03.2010

It looks like you're in Asia, would you like to be redirected to the Drinks Business Asia edition?

Yes, take me to the Asia edition No