Close Menu

Jancis Robinson MW wins Lifetime Achievement Award

Famed wine writer Jancis Robinson MW has been named as the recipient of the Institute of Masters of Wine (IMW) Lifetime Achievement Award.

Though Robinson could not attend the ceremony at Vinexposium’s V d’Or, the award was presented by IMW executive director Julian Gore-Booth and the drinks business editor-in-chief Patrick Schmitt MW to Jeannie Cho Lee MW, who accepted it on Robinson’s behalf.

Schmitt commented: “Although best known as a tireless and fiercely-independent wine critic, Jancis’ contribution to the world of wine has been so much greater than tasting notes and scores. With her always up-to-date commentary on the drinks industry she has kept wine lovers and professionals at the forefront of what’s really happening in the trade.”

“And then there’s her vast wealth of published referential material, in particular the incredible books she has authored and edited,” he added. “From the ultimate study guide that is The Oxford Companion to Wine to the ground-breaking tome called Wine Grapes. In short, I can’t think of anyone who has done more to educate the wine drinker than Jancis.”

In 1984, Robinson became the first individual working outside of the wine trade to become a Master of Wine. More than 20 books, several television series and an OBE later, she is arguably the world’s most famous wine communicator.

Robinson said of the honour: “I can’t tell you how surprised and delighted I am to be honoured by my peers and to join such an array of wine stars, many of them old friends. I give sincere thanks to the amazing and supportive team at who work so hard and so brilliantly, as well as my collaborators on all the books and at the Financial Times. And finally this award should of course be shared with my wonderful, long-suffering, growing family, not least my husband Nick Lander who has looked after me so well for 43 years. Here’s to many more women in wine being wholly recognised.”

Previous recipients of the award include Marchese Piero Antinori, Baroness Phillipine de Rothschild, Hugh Johnson, as well as the MWs Olivier Humbrecht and Mark Savage. Nominees for the award are voted on by IMW members.

It looks like you're in Asia, would you like to be redirected to the Drinks Business Asia edition?

Yes, take me to the Asia edition No