Croft opens Douro estate to tourists

Croft Port has opened its estate in the Douro Valley to the public having completed work on its new visitor centre at Quinta da Roêda.

CROFT - CV Quinta da Roêda (8)The new centre will offer tourists an insight into a working vineyard, tastings of a range of Croft Ports and the chance to experience foot-treading grapes first hand during harvest time.

Converted from an old stable building on the property, the new centre is within walking distance of Pinhão, a small village which is rapidly becoming the centre of tourism in the Douro Valley.

Founded in 1588, Croft Port is one of oldest companies operating in the Douro, with its vineyards at Quinta da Roêda first acquired by Croft in 1889. Since 2001, Croft has been under the ownership of The Fladgate Partnership, which also owns Taylor’s and Fonseca Ports, who renovated the cellars and vineyards and re-introduced traditional granite lagares (large granite treading tanks) used for foot-treading grapes for its Vintage Ports.

Winery tours start from €7 per person and up to €22 for a full guided tour.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our newsletters