IWSC announces wine trophy winners

The IWSC has announced its 2015 varietal wine trophy winners, following seven months of judging wines from more than 30 countries.

IWSC 2015A total of 24 trophies have been awarded, with wines from the Southern Hemisphere faring particularly well. Both South Africa and Australia received four trophies each.

South Africa’s Marks & Spencer Paul Cluver Ferricrete Riesling 2014 was awarded the Riesling Trophy, supported by Jancis Robinson, with judges describing it as being “fresh and crisp in the mouth with a range of citrus flavours in gentle array balanced by a sweetness that is smoothing rather than sweet”.

Turning toward Australia, which was awarded a total of 50 gold medals this year, House of Arras’ EJ Carr Late Disgorged 2002 was awarded the Bottle Fermented Sparkling Trophy for the first time since Brown Brothers won the accolade in 2007. Australian Vintage’s Bin 9000 Semillon 2006 triumphed again for the second year in a row, picking up the Semillon Trophy.

New Zealand beat entrants from all other nations to take home the Pinot Noir and Sauvignon Blanc Trophies, as well as 20 gold medals across one of the widest spread of styles and varieties ever seen from New Zealand in the competition. The Crown Range Cellar Signature Selection Grant Taylor Central Otago Pinot Noir 2013 was awarded the Pinot Noir Trophy and the Rapaura Springs Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2015 won the Sauvignon Blanc Trophy.

“The standard of New Zealand wines entered into this year’s competition was extremely high,” said New Zealand-based wine writer and judge Jo Burzynska, who was a New Zealand panel chair at the IWSC this year.

“It was also great to see such a range of varieties winning top awards, as well as some exciting diversity in the Sauvignon Blanc classes that saw a number of complex older barrel fermented Sauvignon Blancs rewarded.”

Chile also received two trophies, picking up both the blended Red Trophy for TerraNoble Lahuen Rojo 2012, Viña Terranoble, and the Carmenère Trophy for Sibaris Carmenere 2013 from Viña Undurraga SA.

The National Wine Producer of the Year shortlists have also been announced today. For a full list please click here. The winners of these awards will be announced at the IWSC Annual Awards Banquet on 26 November. For tickets please email pip.mortimer@iwscgroup.com

Full List of Varietal Trophies

Pinot Noir Trophy – Crown Range Cellar Signature Selection Grant Taylor Pinot Noir 2013 – Crown Range Cellar Limited

Abraham Perold Pinotage Trophy sponsored by The Pinotage Association – Kanonkop Pinotage 2012 – Kanonkop Wine Estate

Merlot Trophy – H3 Merlot 2012 – Columbia Crest Winery

Carmenere Trophy – Sibaris Carmenere 2013 – Viña Undurraga SA

The Warren Winiarski Cabernet Sauvignon Trophy sponsored by Arcadia Vineyards – Robert Mondavi To Kalon Vineyard Cabernet Sauvignon Reserve 2011 -Constellation Wines International

Blended Red Wine Trophy – TerraNoble Lahuen Rojo 2012 – Viña Terranoble

Malbec Trophy – Bodega Navarro Correas Selección del Enólogo Malbec Single Vineyard 2012- Bodega Navarro Correas

Syrah/Shiraz Trophy – Ron Thorn Shiraz 2012 – Thorn-Clarke Wines

Bottle Fermented Sparkling Wine sponsored by Denbies Wine Estate – House of Arras EJ Carr Late Disgorged 2002 – House of Arras

Gruner Veltliner Trophy – Weingut Türk Grüner Veltliner Kremser Frechau 2013 – Weingut Türk

Chardonnay Trophy sponsored by Mission Hill – Jordan Nine Yards Chardonnay 2013 – Jordan Wine Estate

Sauvignon Blanc Trophy – Rapaura Springs Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc 2015 – Rapaura Springs

Semillon Trophy – McGuigan Bin 9000 Semillon 2006 – Australian Vintage Ltd

Riesling Trophy supported by Jancis Robinson- Paul Cluver Ferricrete Riesling 2014 – Paul Cluver Wine Estate

Chenin Blanc Trophy sponsored by Wine Extra – The FMC 2013 – Ken Forrester Wines

Fortified Wine Trophy – Hardys Rare Muscat 20 YO – Hardys

Dessert Wine Trophy – Strewn Vidal Icewine 2011 – Strewn winery

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Subscribe to our newsletters

Regional Sales Manager (London)

Ian Macleod Distillers
London, UK

Wine Trader

Vintage Capital II PLC
London, UK

International Marketing Assistant

Paris, France

Store Manager, Hampton Court

The Vineking
16 Bridge Road, East Molesey, Surrey KT8 9HA

Business Development Manager

Matthew Clark
Brighton, UK

Brand Activation Manager UK & Europe

Australian Vintage
London, UK

Sales Account Manager

Matthew Clark
Reading, UK

Brand Activation Executive

Pernod Ricard UK
London, UK

Logistics Administrator

Swig Wines Ltd

International Bulk Wine & Spirits Show (IBWSS)

25th Jul 2018

Cape Wine 2018

Cape Town,South Africa
12th Sep 2018

The Wine & Spirits Show

London,United Kingdom
12th Oct 2018
Click to view more

The Global Malbec Masters 2018

Deadline : 1st August 2018

Champagne Masters 2018

Deadline : 1st August 2018

Click to view more

The Global Malbec Masters 2017

the drinks business is proud to announce the inaugural Global Malbec Masters 2017

The Global Sparkling Masters 2017

the drinks business is thrilled to announce the launch of The Global Sparkling Masters.

Click to view more